Don’t Forget to Send Your Reactions!

time-flies-clock-10-11-2006Time flies when you’re busy enjoying your summer, but this is just a little reminder to send your reactions to Hot, Flat and Crowded to Dean Siegel by TOMORROW MIDNIGHT TONIGHT.  Yes, the deadline is tomorrow today, so get writing!

I know, I know, you’re busy packing and spending time with friends before you all head off to school, so why should you do this?  Because there is a really good prize.  I swear.  It is dinner with Dean Siegel (who is pretty cool all on his own) and “special guests”.  Let me repeat…SPECIAL GUESTS.  Gee, I wonder who might be a special guest you could have dinner with?  I’m pretty sure that special guest is going to be someone you’re REALLY going to want to have dinner with.  ‘Nuff said.

5 Responses

  1. I really enjoyed this book. In all honesty, it’s not the kind of thing I’d choose on my own, so I’m very glad it was required. There were definitely some very depressing elements, but there was quite a bit of optimism in various chapters, especially the last one. I thought the points were remarkably well thought out, especially the idea about petrodictators and the economic necessity and advantage of the green revolution. Also, I really enjoyed Friedman’s writing style. So often, I just found myself thinking, “That was an amazing sentence.” So much of his imagery and word choice was just incredible! I’m so happy I read it. It was a fascinating read, and I enjoyed writing my thoughts about it to Dean Siegel. And, the prospect of “special guests” doesn’t hurt. Hopefully, I’ll see you all there!

  2. Hehehe I must admit you are doing a pretty good job at getting me excited about those SPECIAL GUEST(S). So after finally finishing the book and sending a reaction, I must say I’m really happy that this book was chosen as our summer reading.

    Yes, there is A LOT of information in it, and much of it is borderline depressing and indusive of a state of helplessness as a previous post stated. Yet I also think that the final message it sends out is one of a call to action. Yes, these are the facts of what the problem is. Yes, it’s a monumental undertaking. But yes, we can do something about it. Friedman doesn’t sugar-coat it, one of the chapters even tells us that “Green is boring” because most of the real work will fall on legislators and people behind the scenes making small but steady steps towards a greener America. Yet if you stick with the book until the end, I believed you’ll find it a rewarding experience for two reasons.

    First, I felt there was some much needed optimism present in the final chapter which truly empowered the reader to make a change. We as students moving in to D.C have the unique privilege of being young voices at an ubelievable center of power, we should make it heard and advocate for greater responsibility from all players (the government, the energy providers, etc). Seemingly monumental obstacles have been overcome in the past, and the final chapters give good reminders of those. Why should this one be any different? America’s done it before, it will do so again.

    Second, finishing the book felt like a preparation for the road ahead. It’s hard, it takes effort, there’s no shortcut and there’s no magic at the end. Much like the challenge we’re facing, we really need to work at it to defeat it. But it’s a start, an important first step. And whether one agrees with Friedman or not, it’s important to at least consider his point of view and take it as the foundation for an upcomming discussion on the topic. Because for true change to occur, we must all be involved. And the first step of that involves reading some sources, of which H,F&C is an important one. Just by finishing the book we’re one step closer (regardless of how small that step is) to facing this challenge.

    So I’d say read it, even if you disagree with it, and consider the arguments. Then find the flaws in it and improve on Friedman’s work. And then move on and build a better America. Oh, yeah, and good luck on winning dinner along the way!

    Did I mention I’m excited about the mystery guests?

    • It seems like “special guests” have captured everyone’s attention :).

      I definitely agree with your analysis, especially of the last chapter. Friedman knew how to end the book on a pretty inspirational note. And doesn’t it just make you so much more excited to be in the city where all these changes are really going to be taking place?! Makes the read all the more empowering and pertinent.

  3. Wow! You certainly have motivated me to send in my reactions. I can’t wait to see who the special guests are – I hope I’m at the table with them!

    • I feel the same way, Ellen. I am definitely a lot more motivated to write my reaction now. Hopefully we will be at the dinner together with all of these special guests!

Leave a Reply

